Call or Text Us: 303-504-0105

Velvet Underground Tribute Album To Feature Iggy Pop, St. Vincent & More

The Velvet Underground tribute album, I’ll Be Your Mirror: A Tribute to the Velvet Underground & Nico, due out on September 24 via Verve Records, will feature tracks from several well-known artists including Iggy Pop and St. Vincent & Thomas Bartlett.

The Velvet Underground & Nico, which came out in 1967, paired the Lou Reed-fronted New York rock legends with German singer Nico, and became one of the most acclaimed albums of all time.

Songs from Matt Sweeney, Thurston Morre & Bobby Gillespie, Sharon Van Etten, Michael Stipe, Matt Berninger and several others will also be part of the upcoming tribute album.

Lou Reed’s close friend Hal Willner, who passed away last year, oversaw and executive produced I’ll Be Your Mirror.

“The VU are a fundamental part of Verve’s history, and their fearless approach and musical integrity continue to inspire all of us at the label,” head of Verve Records Jamie Krents said in a statement. “We were so lucky to partner with the late Hal Willner to pay tribute to the band’s iconic first album.”

He added, “It’s an absolute honor to have every one of these artists on a Verve recording and we hope this album finds a welcome place in the record collections of VU fans new and old.”

Music News Service distributed by Frankly Media. Copyright(c) 2021 All Rights Reserved


Loading playlist…