Call or Text Us: 303-504-0105

Steely Dan’s ‘Aja’ To Be Reissued On Vinyl

American rock band Steely Dan‘s sixth album Aja is set to be reissued on vinyl on September 29.

The reissue is remastered from an analog tape copy of the album and will be released on 180-gram black vinyl, along with a premium 45 RPM version on Ultra High-Quality vinyl.

Released in September 1977, Aja was Steely Dan’s sixth studio album. The album peaked at No. 3 on the Billboard Top LPs & Tape chart and No. 5 on the U.K. Albums Chart. It featured the hit singles “Peg”, “Deacon Blues”, and “Josie”.

The record was nominated for Album of the Year at the Grammys. It was also inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame in 2003 and added to the Library of Congress’ National Recording Registry in 2010.

This is the fourth Steely Dan record to get a vinyl reissue. The reissue program, which Donald Fagen has overseen, started with their 1972 debut, Can’t Buy A Thrill, reissued in November 2022. It was followed by 1973’s Countdown to Ecstasy, which dropped in May, and 1974’s Pretzel Logic, which dropped in July.

The program plans to reissue three more albums – 1975’s Katy Lied, 1976’s The Royal Scam and 1980’s Gaucho – over the next year.

(Photo: Geffen/UMe)

Music News Service distributed by Frankly Media. Copyright(c) 2023 All Rights Reserved


Loading playlist…