Call or Text Us: 303-504-0105

Metallica Announce New Album ’72 Seasons’

Metal legends Metallica have announced that their new album is coming out next year.

The 12-track album, 72 Seasons, totaling over 77 minutes, will be released on April 14, 2023.

Explaining the special meaning of the title, Metallica founding member James Hetfield said, “72 seasons. The first 18 years of our lives that form our true or false selves. The concept that we were told ‘who we are’ by our parents. A possible pigeonholing around what kind of personality we are.”

“I think the most interesting part of this is the continued study of those core beliefs and how it affects our perception of the world today. Much of our adult experience is reenactment or reaction to these childhood experiences. Prisoners of childhood or breaking free of those bondages we carry,” he added.

Produced by Greg Fidelman, along with Hetfield and Lars Ulrich, 72 Seasons is available for pre-order now on CD, 2LP 140g black vinyl, two different colored vinyl variations, and digitally in the Met Store at

Every pre-order will receive a digital instant grat track of the first song, “Lux Æterna.” Its Tim Saccenti-directed video can be checked out on Metallilca’s YouTube channel.

72 Seasons track listing:

72 SeasonsShadows FollowScreaming SuicideSleepwalk My Life AwayYou Must Burn!Lux ÆternaCrown of Barbed WireChasing LightIf Darkness Had a SonToo Far Gone?Room of MirrorsInamorata

Music News Service distributed by Frankly Media. Copyright(c) 2022 All Rights Reserved


Loading playlist…